Local Government

Local authority services for Holywell are provided by Flintshire County Council and Holywell Town Council.
Flintshire County Council’s headquarters are based at:
County Hall,
Tel: 01352 752121

The services provided by the County Council  include Education, Highways, Housing, Environmental Health, Social Services, Libraries, Recreation and Leisure etc.

Holywell Town Council is based at:
Bank Place Offices
Tel/Fax: 01352 711757
e-mail: town.clerk@holywell.wales

Although the Town Council has limited statutory functions at present it  provides much appreciated services to Holywell and Greenfield including:

  • Christmas street lighting and displays
  • Well Inn Music Festival
  • Annual Wales in Bloom Competition (Winners in 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012 and 2013)
  • Local Schools in Bloom Competition, Holywell Town Website, Street Entertainment, Street Enhancements.
  • Town Centre CCTV
  • Match funding for play area equipment
  • Grants to local organisations
  • Supply and maintenance of Bus Shelters, Flag Poles,Litter Bins, Notice Boards, Public Seating etc.

Holywell Town Council has also adopted the following organisations:

  • 4th Cadet Battalion Holywell Platoon Royal Welsh Fusiliers
  • 2480 (Holywell) Squadron Air Training Corps
  • 119 (Holywell) Recovery Company REME (V) Territorial Army

It is also affiliated to the following organisations:

  • Clwyd Community Chest
  • North & Mid Wales  Association of Local Councils
  • North Wales Play Association

Council meetings are held on the third Tuesday of each month (except in August). The Annual Meeting is held in May. The Finance Committees are held in January/February and June. The Audit, Wales in Bloom, Holywell and Greenfield Development, Town Centre and Council Offices sub-committees are called as and when required.

The Council has 15 elected members representing 4 Wards. These wards are Holywell Central (3 members); Holywell East (3 members); Holywell West (4 members) and Greenfield (5 members). .

Member of Parliament – Delyn Constituency  The Rt  Hon David Hanson
4 Trelawny Square, Flint CH6 5NN Tel: 01352 763159.  E-mail: david.hanson.mp@parliament.uk

Welsh Assembly Member – Hannah Blythyn

38 Church Street, Flint, Flintshire, CH6 5AE. Email: Hannah.Blythyn@assembly.wales

The Council is served by a Town Clerk and Financial Officer, Jason Baker whose office hours are 9am – 1.00 Monday to Friday. He can be contacted on 01352 711757 or email town.clerk@holywell.wales

The Council also has a Project Development Officer, Martin Fearnley. He can be contacted on 01352 711757 or email: martin.fearnley@holywell.wales

Collette Lowry is Support Officer to both Town Clerk and the Project Development Officer. She can be contacted on support.officer@holywell.wales

Mayor of Holywell 2019/20 Cllr Paul Johnson